Thread: Newbie/Trip Report (James Canyon, Flagstaff AZ)

Newbie/Trip Report (James Canyon, Flagstaff AZ)

Hello All!

My name is Mike, and I'm relatively new to the canyoneering scene. I've been going to Zion with my mom and her husband since last summer. My girlfriend Maria and I are expanding our horizons and trying some things out ourselves. I'm a systems analyst at Northern Arizona University, and enjoy hiking, climbing, photography, and all kinds of nerdy stuff!

Anyway, on to our trip and photos.

We used the new Arizona Technical Canyoneering guide by Todd Martin and some hear-say from friends to get an idea of what to expect.

We dropped the car just off of I17 at exit 331 (about 15 minutes South of town)

Started hiking bright-eyed and bushy-tailed :)

After about ten minutes of hiking we got to the head of James Canyon and a few deep pools (easily scrambled around)

This pool was almost a swimmer... We ended up wading around one edge using some slippery submerged rocks.

Most of the canyon looked a lot like this (or more overgrown)

First real down-climb and swim.

I left my camera put away for the first rappel because the launch was a bit precarious and the bottom required a floating-disconnect... But here's a cute shot just around the corner.

One of the narrows sections

Me and Maria. We both wore our helmets, but she was more interested in tuna than de-gearing (note the can on her knee)

It got kinda chilly, so Maria donned a beanie she knitted, which turned out to match her wetsuit quite nicely.

More narrows

At this log, we set up a hand line. Just around the corner is an 8ft downclimb that was severely underhung - hence the line.

A view from the top of the second rappel.

And from the bottom.

The rap avoids a neat little dry fall

There was a lot of in and out of the water, scrambling over rocks, and generally not camera friendly terrain...so pics of a couple sections are a bit lacking.

We found a really big log jam though!