Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Aluminum rap rings-Pointless?

Aluminum rap rings-Pointless?

I wasn't getting enough drama on the guided rap thread so I thought I could start a good argument on this thread. I don't think it will reach the "bolt wars" magnificence but its worth a try.

Why do people use aluminum rappel rings. I am fairly new at canyoneering so I claim ignorance on this. I have read that once you pull a rope on the aluminum rings you shouldn't use them anymore because of the wear on the ring making it weaker. To me it seems like the person putting on the ring is not being considerate toward the canyoneers to follow because they will either have to cut the webbing and make a whole new setup, or add a quicklink and leave a bigger "mess".

Am I the only one who thinks this? Is there a good reason for the aluminum rappel ring other than the small amount of weight you save by carrying them instead of quick links.
    The man thong is wrong.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

They are lighter, and I would guess that is the main reason some people use them. Some of them are hollow and wear down when you pull the rope making them lose strength, over time the hollow middle becomes exposed and then they really start to lose strength. Omega Pacific however makes solid aluminum rap rings, much stronger and won't wear down to a hollow middle. Some hate them, others like them. I have some of the omega pacifics and regular steel quick links. I wouldn't ever use the hollow rings. A lot of people use different gear depending on the canyon they are doing. Replacing webbing and rap rings in Pine Creek? 1 inch webbing with beefy quicklinks. Doing an unbetad new canyon you don't plan on giving out beta for anytime soon? Good to save weight where you can, use smaller webbing and lighter rap rings. Others will chime in with more "expert" opinions than mine.

Eric.