Thread: Upper Paria-Hogeye-Hackberry-Yellow Rock

Upper Paria-Hogeye-Hackberry-Yellow Rock

My first TR for this website. I've been hiking in southern utah for over 12 years, first going to the parks, then the other fantastic lands of the Colorado Plateau. Hackberry Canyon now in the GSENM, was my first backpack in utah. So it has a special place in my heart.
    Some hikers from Arizona were going up to hike around the upper Paria area and I decided to do a quick overnighter I had been wanting to get done. I have traveled up and down Hackberry, Upper and Lower Paria and Buckskin a couple of times, and never tire of this area.
    I drove up from Tucson Fri after getting off work at noon, traffic cooperated and I car camped off the road just opposite Cottonwood Canyon road. Great view of the moon with Jupiter nearby showing as a slightly cream colored star. Gorgeous.
    Up early the next day then drove to the Upper Paria TH, site of the old movie set, down to the river area and parked. A few campers and horse trailers around. I left a note on my windshield for the others; not sure of their plans but hoped to see some of them along the way.
    I was traveling fairly light, no tent, no filter, just Aqua Mira and bleach for water treatment, and a couple of nights worth of food. I planned this loop, about 21 miles, as an overnighter but you can never tell what might happen.