Thread: Snowshoe advice?

Snowshoe advice?

I have never used snowshoes before. Know absolutely nothing about them. But, I'm going to be buying some snowshoes soon. Like maybe later today, or tomorrow (I've got so much patience, ). I'm really hoping to get some good advice from you folks.

The way that these new snowshoes will get used will involve taking them on and off many times during the day. Basically, get out of the vehicle, put them on, take a short (about a half mile) hike, return to the vehicle, take them off, drive to the next spot and repeat - all day. Could easily see wanting to put them on and take them off 10 times in a day. Not knowing anything about them, I don't know if this is a biggie or not.

Not going to be carrying too much weight while walking in them. Just my almost 200 lb self and a few pounds of gear, that's about it.

Terrain won't be too steep most of the time, but may often involve moving through sage brush and other thick stuff.

So, any specific recommends? Any tips on what to look for in a pair? Size, materials, binding types, anything?

Oh, and where to get in the SLC area? Would prefer to be able to just go get them, rather than order. And will actually be buying two pair. Kirkhams maybe? Sportsmans Whorehouse?

Thanks in advance!

- DAA

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

I've only done a little snowshoeing, so take this with a grain of salt. Recreation Outlet has some snowshoes that are a good price. Most of my family uses those. Once you have them adjusted to your boot, they're easy to put on and off. Just a couple of buckles to clip together.

I would not just run and buy the cheapest snowshoe out there. There are many different designs, styles, and functions available. If you don't think you will be in it for the long haul, you could always look at renting.

Myself, I am very partial to the MSR Denali shoe.