Thread: Fixed Gear Bikes

Fixed Gear Bikes

I'm looking at getting a fixed gear bike for commuting. Anyone have any recommendations on what I should be looking at/for?

I test rode a KHS Flite 100 which was awesome (but had no brakes, which seems to be a necessity for commuting), and a Raleigh Rush Hour (with brakes) which was also awesome. Something about the simplicity of the bikes really appeals to me. The weight and speed doesn't hurt, either. :)

Should I buy something new? Or look for an older frame on Craigslist/eBay and build my own?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Talk to jinx. I think those bikes are absolutely nuts, totally insane.

But if you've got it down, know how to brake and all that, go for it.

I'd start out with a single speed first, cuz fixies are insane.

I have been thinking the same thing. Looking at these http://www.redlinebicycles.com/adultbikes/monocog.html maybe even in a 29".

I have zero experience with single speed since bmx days but I love the idea for a commuter bike. Keep us posted if you find anything cool.

Start saving for your knee replacement surgery at the same time as you buy the bike. Fixies can be really hard on you, but can also be a great way to smooth your pedal circles. I see a fair amount of bikes on Craigslist built from older frames and modified to fixed hubs. I think that if you buy one you need to avoid a new bike and get an older kind of retro-grouch attitude bike to have the total experience.