Thread: Utah in April

Utah in April

I'm from the east and do all of my hiking in the White Mountains, NH so I have no knowledge of any western ranges or mountains to climb. I am coming to the Grand Canyon the end of April as part of a Hike for Discover for Cancer Research and want to extend my trip. I would like to venture into Utah and do some hiking. I do not have details as to where I am staying but probably will need to rent a car in Flagstaff or meet up with a friend. I was looking for some advice/thoughts on:

a/ what can I expect for wheather that time of year in Utah?
    b/ any summits in the southern part of state that will not be snow-covered? I really do not want to bring my crampons if I hike solo.
    c/ hiking in Zion appears to be interesting; any peaks not snow-covered? There appear to be many interesting trails throughout this park.
    d/perhaps I should be looking in AZ too?

Perhaps you link me to some websites which would be helpful.

Thanks, all comments welcome.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

I'm sure you'll get many replies to these questions - there are some very knowledgable folks that live down that way that frequent this board.

Generally: Southern Utah in April is quite nice. Anything over 7,000 feet will probably still have snow. Not sure about canyoneering, if it's safe from snowmelt/water, someone will know that - Paria Canyon area is amazing and a quick drive from AZ. Zion is GREAT - Higher up may have a little ice in the shady spots, but should be ok. Observation Point hike is my favorite there.
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and I - I took the one less traveled by, and that has made all the difference. ~ Frost