Thread: Im New to Snowshoeing

Im New to Snowshoeing

Ok,
    I am planning on going out and snowshoeing very soon. I have been looking at some of the equipment that I need and just was wondering if anyone has any suggestions on what snowshoes they would recomend. I weigh around 200lbs and have been looking at the MSR with the expandable tails. I looked at some of the previous topics but I guess I would like to get this rolling again with the gear I should buy? I have been looking alot at REI for my gear.

Thanks

Two wheels are better than four, keep the rubber side down.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

i'm a big fan of the Atlas snowshoe.

i have a pair of the 10 series i've been very pleased with.
    i'm sure you'll get lots of opinions (like w/ most gear)
    so i suggest you rent a few different brands before you buy.

i did that very thing, and that being said, i ended up w/ atlas for both my wife and i.
    we've used them a bunch and it's been smiles all around.

good luck!

edit: if your interested, Backcountry.com has a super cheap pair here

I would say go and try some on. They're all a little different and things like comfort, ease to get on/off, and other features that you will like. I have Tubbs, I really like them. My husband really likes his MSRs. The MSRs bug me because of all the little floppy things floppin' around. It's those kind of little things that may make a difference for you.

Maybe rent some different brands from different stores and see how they work for you.

Good luck! Snowshoeing is awesome.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and I - I took the one less traveled by, and that has made all the difference. ~ Frost

Treehugger's spot on, snowshoeing IS awesome! have a blast this winter..

I'll second Marc's recommendation for the Atlas 10 series. I have them and love them. They are super easy to get in and out of and work well in off-camber situations as well.