Thread: Climbing Delicate Arch

Climbing Delicate Arch

Did everyone see the story last night about the free climber who climbed delicate arch? That is amazing!! That guy must be really good. What is your opinion of the act, and your opinion of the park service response. Do these rogue individuals contribute to more restrictive laws that effect everyone else? I've got to admit that I thought it was pretty cool to see someone climbing it, but I don't think I'd like to see everyone doing it.

http://www.ksl.com/?nid=148&sid=255234

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Yeah, I heard about this on the radio. Dean Potter is an amazing climber, he holds the record for a solo, free climb of El Cap - something like 6 hours. I have a tape called "Masters of Stone, V" that films him climbing that, he's freakin' running across parts of it, it's crazy.

However, I agree with most of the comments on that article. I dont think he should have climbed Delicate Arch - that's his ego getting in the way of rational thought. Climbing the named arches is prohibited for good reasons, imagine if every climber took it upon themselves to climb all the famous arches... not cool. There are areas in the park that are open to climbers, the "famous" arches should be left alone.

(Having said all that - wow! That's a pretty amazing free climb!! Damn, he's good.)
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and I - I took the one less traveled by, and that has made all the difference. ~ Frost

Yeah, there is a thread on this in the climbing section.

http://uutah.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2445

This was not an amazing feat. It was a childish and selfish attempt to gain attention.

Quote Originally Posted by Iceaxe
    Yeah, there is a thread on this in the climbing section.

http://uutah.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2445

This was not an amazing feat. It was a childish and selfish attempt to gain attention.