Thread: Back East

Back East

Howdy folks,

I've been lurking a bit, but after a prods from a couple of folks, I decided it's time to introduce myself. So...

I'm Reid. 50 years old from proper (so I'm the black sheep) Scots/English and Lebanese families. Fancy explaining that in the South! Married 28 years - Mary and I have two great daughters. Jessica, who's 20 and a sophomore at Appalachian State University majoring in forensics, and Kathryn, 17 and a junior in high school here in Chapel Hill, NC.

I've was a Psychiatric Nurse / Nurse Practitioner for 21 years before I got the chance of a lifetime to switch to Nursing Informatics, even though I didn't have the educational background or experience. Now I'm a Clinical Systems Analyst in Information Services at UNC (GO HEELS!) Hospitals and spend my work life building clinical systems (currently Order Entry for our Children's Hospital) for doctors and nurses to use.

So, why am I on uutah.com? Because I've been in an intensifying love affair with the Colorado Plateau since my first visit in the mid 80's. A life-long outdoor enthusiast - my mom was one of those uncommon 50's-60'a moms who took the whole family camping for a month every summer. Water skiing by the age of 4 (in my tennis shoes plus my older brother's tennis shoes so the ski's wouldn't fall off). Cross country hiking by the age of 8. Hiking solo anywhere I could (which means NC, VA, FLA - where there was family - until well into adulthood) since 13. Since then Wyoming, Colorado, Utah and Arizona - and still NC & VA. Never got into climbing, though I've topped a number of passes at 11-12,000 feet. Was totally enthralled with high altitude hiking until I discovered canyons.