Thread: just another newby

just another newby

Good morning and happy December.

I'm David and a newby to the group.

Originally I am from Detroit, born and raised in the city. Graduated from Cooley High School more years ago than I care to admit. Left right after I graduated to play baseball. Never really looked back.

My brother has a website and group in Detroit called Beat the Train in Detroit. He is an avid urban bicyclist and I have been lucky enough to get him out here a couple of times to do Slick Rock in Moab.

I am not a Slick Rock fan. The last time I was there I ran into too many motorcycles. So down there, I prefer Gemini Bridges and Mill Canyon.

A few years ago a friend took me snowshoeing for the first time in my life. I fell in love with it. Immediately bought my own pair and go every chance I get. I enjoy going with friends but really prefer going with just my dog. Lucy is a black lab and according to Backpacker magazine, black labs are the best trail dogs. I have found that to be true with her.

I took some friends snowshoeing last week. They were all new and several were severly out of shape. So once I got home I had to take my dog for a run just to get some exercise.

I'm planning a snowshoeing/backpacking trip at the end of this year. I have about twenty people coming with me, including my teenage daughter. She is amazing. She has backpacked the Havasupai with me and is an avid climber. She did a 10 in Alaska with me last summer. Finally I have a child that will bike, hike, kayak, snowshoe, and climb with me.

That is me. Graduated from BYU and University of Phoenix. I am never happy with an outing unless I am exhausted, sweaty, and have a new scar to brag about.
    scars are tattoos with better stories

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement