PDA

View Full Version : Boulder Mountain, my luck continues I drew a spring black bear tag!

MY T PIMP
03-14-2013, 08:31 AM
I've been applying for a Black Bear Tag in Utah for 6 years now, with 5 bonus points (and max point applicants for the Boulder were 8) my chances of drawing were 1/17, and never have I drawn anything in Utah without max bonus points. Which is why, I was ever so surprised when my wife told me we had a $83.00 pending charge to our checking account from the DWR. I now have 2-1/2 weeks to train for 2 months of rigorous bear hunting. Boulder mountain is known for some big bruins. I've even talked to a rancher who's stock has fell victim to a notorious cattle killing cinnamon 500 lb boar which has preyed on numerous calves, and even full grown cattle. This bear has eluded hunters for years I'm told, and even has a reputation of honing in on rifle shots from deer and elk hunters as there is usually an easy gut pile meal at the end of that rainbow. Sounds like I am in for a hell of ride for the months of April and May. I have 2-1/2 weeks to get into some sort of shape, as I wasn't really prepared to get lucky with the draw. This is a pic of a big 450 lb Cinnamon boar Taken by Cody Mock last year on the Boulder. I would appreciate in advice or knowledge any of you have for Bear hunting the Boulders.64120

2065toyota
03-14-2013, 08:49 AM
There is generally always bear hanging around the upper and lower barker resevoir area. My uncle guides up there a lot. I will hit him up to see what he has heard

accadacca
03-14-2013, 07:18 PM
Damn MY T, congrats! I look forward to hearing your stories. I have no clue on tips...bring a big gun and don't miss. :haha:

2065toyota
03-14-2013, 08:50 PM