PDA

View Full Version : My new fireplace!

Byron
03-12-2013, 05:44 PM
I paint houses for a living and I've seen hundreds of gas log fireplaces. I never paid much attention to them because they look so fake, ya know? Anyway...about a month ago I turned up at this house to paint the living room and I thought "That's nice, they have a real fire burning here". It didn't take long and I realized nobody was feeding the thing and it was still flaming away. At closer inspection, I realized it was fake. I was amazed at the realism, and after inquiring about it, the homeowner told me the logs were "ceramic" not "concrete", and that makes all the difference.

I was sold, as I have a fireplace in my condo that is a PITA to get going and maintain. The problem is that it's rather small, so I can't get a suitable bed of coals down to burn bigger logs, therefore I have to keep feeding it smaller ones every 10 minutes or so to keep the flame action. The guy that hooked up the gas line today told me these ceramic logs just came out a couple years ago, hence why I've never seen them in action.

It's awesome...as the ceramics, unlike the concrete logs, glow red like real wood. So, any of you that might want to upgrade your gas logs, this is the bomb! Hargrove makes them, and I believe another company is Real Fyre. Check it out! I considered putting this in the "What made you happy today" thread, but what the hell...it's an excuse to build up my own thread count, considering lack of trips lately. Whadda ya think?

fourtycal
03-12-2013, 06:47 PM
That does look sweet.
I have an old gas log set for one of my fireplaces and it sucks. This may be the answer :2thumbs:

Iceaxe
03-12-2013, 09:35 PM
Shouldn't them horns be mounted on the front of your truck?

Byron
03-12-2013, 10:54 PM