PDA

View Full Version : News U.S. Energy independence forever?

Iceaxe
02-21-2013, 08:23 AM
I'm an engineer and do a ton of work with the coal industry so I keep up on Oil, Coal, Tar Sands and Oil Shale.... anyhoo... this looks really promising... I put it in general because I figure it would be of interest to everyone, particularly those in the coal (Utah) states. I'll move it to enviromental if it's an issue.

[TABLE]
[TR]
[TD]The best economic thing about coal is it has the highest BTU content of any fuel on the market.Coal: the cleanest energy source there is?By Gene J. Koprowski (http://www.foxnews.com/archive/author/gene-j-koprowski/index.html)
Published February 20, 2013

Researchers have discovered a stunning new process that takes the energy from coal without burning it -- and removes virtually all of the pollution.
The clean coal technique was developed by scientists at The Ohio State University, with just $5 million in funding from the federal government, and took 15 years to achieve.

phatch
02-21-2013, 09:21 AM
So I've heard that coal ash is relatively radioactive and unregulated as radioactive waste. Any authoritative clarification for me?

Iceaxe
02-21-2013, 09:46 AM
I could go into great detail on the radioactivity of fly ash... but bottom line its very small and not a health issue.

And with the method above there would be no fly ash as we are not burning the coal.

FWIW - we currently make cement from coal fly ash which is removed by scrubbers in the system.

Tap'n on my Galaxy G3

JP
02-21-2013, 10:35 AM