PDA

View Full Version : Help What is the safest and easiest rappelling device?

DiscGo
09-12-2012, 10:13 AM
So I made a mistake. I took my wife for her first rappelling trip and did BattleCreek Falls. She wasn't in the falls itself, but it was too loud to communicate properly and that left her with a lot of unanswered questions and concerns. She did it like a champ, but told me that she only endured it and did not enjoy it.

I am taking her Canyoneering next month with Deathcricket down in Zion and part of me is concerned that this may be the only trip she ever does. I want to make her feel as safe and solid as possible, so I am looking for some input in advance.

Currently I have a Pirana that I was planning on her using, but I am wondering if she would be better off with a Totem, or a grigri type device.

What do you guys suggest is the best device to make a complete newbie (with a fear of heights) feel safe and secure as they rappel down?

What advice would you give me to get her ready for next month?

Thanks

Redpb
09-12-2012, 10:37 AM
I always thought the ATC was the easiest and safest for a beginner. Easy to understand, built in friction grips.

Deathcricket
09-12-2012, 11:07 AM
I think pirana. ATC would be 2nd choice. I've noticed noobs tend to bounce on the ATC though and it freaks them out. I'll bring both if you want and she can try them out. I think the more important thing is to give them a hard active belay and constant words of encouragement and instructions. If they make even the tiniest mistake I tend to stop them, not because they need to be stopped but just to reassure them I WILL stop them at the slightest problem they have. Once the nerves quite down it's easier for them to learn, but the first thing is to make them feel safe and secure.

Edit: looking forward to the trip! *thumbs up*

hank moon
09-12-2012, 02:25 PM
Hi Discgo