PDA

View Full Version : Help Which are your favorite winter canyons?

Dan-wild
12-03-2011, 10:33 PM
I am new to canyoneering. I have descended five technical canyons in the North Wash area now, and I am looking to expand my horizons. Unfortunately I started at the end of the warm season, but I am not giving up hope just yet! If you have any ideas or previous experiences regarding mostly dry canyons with fun rappels I would appreciate suggestions. My friend is a baby and doesn't want to get wet. ;)

(The title of this tread should read "which are your favorite "WINTER" canyons?)

ratagonia
12-03-2011, 11:47 PM
I am new to canyoneering. I have descended five technical canyons in the North Wash area now, and I am looking to expand my horizons. Unfortunately I started at the end of the warm season, but I am not giving up hope just yet! If you have any ideas or previous experiences regarding mostly dry canyons with fun rappels I would appreciate suggestions. My friend is a baby and doesn't want to get wet. ;)

(The title of this tread should read "which are your favorite "WINTER" canyons?)

Welcome to the Group Dan, and to the obsession. Which 5 have you done in North Wash, and what did you think of them?

North Wash is one of the best places in winter and spring - with warmer weather more places become viable.

(You can change the title, but I am not sure how).

Tom

Iceaxe
12-04-2011, 01:30 PM
Moab is also excellent for winter canyoneering. For the most part the canyons are shorter, dry and beginner friendly, all of which makes for good winter slots.

As an added bonus rooms are normally really cheap in winter. Last week nice rooms could be had for $35 a night. And warm rooms and hot showers at night really improve winter canyoneering in my book.

Moab Canyoneering Routes (http://www.climb-utah.com/Moab/index.htm)

http://www.climb-utah.com/Moab/Files/granary1.jpg

spinesnaper
12-04-2011, 08:05 PM