PDA

View Full Version : Anyone in Moab this coming week? Suggestions, please!

canyonphile
10-09-2011, 01:30 PM
For those that don't know, which is probably most of you, I'm a painter. Artist landscape painter, that is. And, since the southern Utah area and Colorado Plateau are my absolute favorite areas to be, of course I had to register for this event:

PleinAir Moab '11 (http://pleinairmoab.com/palette/)

I'm leaving tomorrow morning for Moab, and am spending 5 days there painting, painting and more painting! I am going by myself, and I just thought I'd ask and see if anyone here (or anyone that lives in Moab) would be around to get together, for dinner or a beer or something. I think I'll be at the receptions most nights, and participants are given ID badges, so I'll be easy to find :mrgreen:. So, if you're in the area, swing by, say "hi", and check out all the art of the area!

I'm planning on spending all day tomorrow scouting the area for painting locations (since our trip to do so last week got skunked by the crappy weather). I am looking for a really primo location, possibly along the Colorado River, to do a larger piece, and was thinking possibly painting in Negro Bill Canyon for another.

Does anyone have any suggestions for particularly awesome locations on Hwy 128 or 279 that you'd recommend for a river painting? From Google Maps satellite, it looks like the views are probably better on the west side of the Colorado along 279, vs. Kane Blvd, but I have never driven down there so I don't know.

Anyone have any suggestions for other really scenic places that are nearby Moab that you love to go and could recommend? I'm taking along a book on hikes around Moab, but there are so many people here that know the area well that I thought I'd solicit opinions. It can also be a small side canyon with a really beautiful alcove or pool or something, too - I love to paint reflections and water. Or, fall color spots - I've been focusing on that lately.