PDA

View Full Version : Invite Music Canyon September 24

Scott P
09-13-2011, 05:12 PM
Does anyone want to do Music Canyon September 24?

Udink
09-13-2011, 06:59 PM
I might be interested, if you didn't mind a noob coming along. I've got a little canyoneering gear, and of course a truck to help with the short shuttle back up from Hidden Splendor. You are just planning on hiking down the Muddy when exiting the canyon, right?

skiclimb3287
09-13-2011, 09:09 PM
I also would be really interested. Certainly compared to your background Scott, I am a noob. That being said, I have ~10 canyons under my belt (leading most), but mostly trade routes (Keyhole, Pine Creek, Orderville, Spry, Echo to name a few). I have all the gear necessary (whether you are planning to head out the Muddy or reascend Music) plus some. I have only had a little bit of experience with building natural anchors. I also have a Jeep, so certainly capable of the car shuttle as well, like Udink. Think that covers it! Oh yeah...I almost forgot the rule about being invited along on a trip...I am happy to carry the ropes :nod:

bowjunkie
09-13-2011, 09:55 PM
might toss my hat in the pot to if fall work is caught up !

Scott P
09-14-2011, 07:50 PM
might be interested, if you didn't mind a noob coming along. I've got a little canyoneering gear, and of course a truck to help with the short shuttle back up from Hidden Splendor. You are just planning on hiking down the Muddy when exiting the canyon, right?

Yes, down the Muddy, thus the request for partners. As long as you are sure that you can rappel (short) and downclimb, you should be OK. In October 1988, my brother and I (at ages 12 and 14) managed to climb all the way up and down this slot (though my brother couldn't make the final part of the last [first from the top] drop with our wet shoes), so it's not that hard.