PDA

View Full Version : Newbie from the East coast

Penelope
03-05-2011, 12:28 PM
Hey everyone!
New to the site. Looking for travel buddies for canyoneering this Spring/Summer that do mid- to moderately technical hikes, slot canyons, remote camping, long weekends and long-neck beers. I live in Northeast Florida and have no canyoneering buddies out here. If anyone is planning a long weekend type outing any time from May through August, hit me up if you wouldn't mind an extra person to help with gas and beer money. :)

I'm no slouch, but I haven't done repelling or anything super technical. I'm a personal trainer/boxing fitness instructor and marathon runner, so physically I can handle most anything. Last Summer I did a long weekend in Utah (Muddy Creek area in San Rafael Swell), with two intense 12 hour hikes. One included an amazing and seemingly endless in and out pothole marathon through the slot canyon.

Send me a message on gmail at am.route if you'd like to chat about a trip or just to say hi!

Ciao!
Ann Marie (aka Penelope)

blueeyes
03-05-2011, 01:55 PM
Welcome to the site Penelope!

Penelope
03-05-2011, 02:18 PM
Thanks, Blueeyes! :wink:

ststephen
03-05-2011, 04:14 PM
Welcome, Penelope! Perhaps there's interest in a June Zion Bogley fest again this year? That would be a good opportunity for you to meet folks and get out and try some technical canyons.

accadacca
03-05-2011, 05:05 PM
Welcome to the hood. :cool:

JP
03-05-2011, 10:49 PM
Howdy fellow Floridan :haha:

tanya
03-06-2011, 02:11 PM
Welcome!:clap:

Penelope
03-06-2011, 04:15 PM
Thanks JP! Where in FL? Jacksonville area here.

Penelope
03-06-2011, 04:16 PM
Welcome, Penelope! Perhaps there's interest in a June Zion Bogley fest again this year? That would be a good opportunity for you to meet folks and get out and try some technical canyons.

Sounds great! I didn't see any info on it, but I'll look closer. Thanks!

JP
03-06-2011, 04:57 PM
Thanks JP! Where in FL? Jacksonville area here.