PDA

View Full Version : Trip Report Quick 3 day trip through Page/Kanab/Vegas

jdgibney
02-03-2011, 01:03 PM
This is my first attempt at a TR, I'm not sure it will be very informative, but hopefully somewhat entertaining, if not completely stream of consciousness rambling.

The short of it is, I did a 11 day loop through the area in the early fall but we didn't get permits to hike Coyote Buttes North (and didn't have the time to try to get walk-ins). So I decided to try the lotto every month until I got them, and then build a trip around that. It turns out, based on my experience that I'm glad we did not get them for our trip because a) it was nearly 100 degrees, and b) my friend and I, on that trip, were extremely out of shape and would have had a tough time with it. So anyway, while I was ON the trip on Oct 1, I got the email that I was selected for permits in January (the 7th), and I was psyched! But as it turned out, I had accidentally put in for 6 permits not just 2 (OOPS!) I contacted the BLM folks and they said they couldn't switch it to just 6 but that there should be plenty available on the 15th if I don't pay for the six permits by the deadline. I couldn't wrestle up that many people (and didn't know about this forum yet!) so I took the chance and released them. As it turned out, there were plenty of spaces available and I decided to grab 2 for the 25th of January and my best friend (Rob) who works in Washington DC at the Pentagon was psyched to come with.