PDA

View Full Version : Little help over here?

Riseforms
09-15-2010, 04:12 PM
Need to shoot some stuff for work, basically houses. Any tips for getting a good shot? I'll be borrowing a Canon, I think it's a Rebel.

Thank you very much.

ibenick
09-16-2010, 01:24 PM
Are you going to be shooting interiors or exteriors?

I do architectural photography in luxury homes for my employer but I'm a total amateur. But with that said I've learned a few things, they might not all be the correct way to do it but it works for me. You can see some of what I've shot on my company's website,_____. I shot about 90% of what's on there, especially the stuff in the Private Theaters section, I also designed and programmed the website although most of the good stuff is on the back end where the public can't see.

Here's what I do:
-Canon XSi
-Canon 10-22mm lens wide open at 10mm, I think this is very important for shooting interiors, any wide angle will do
-ISO 100
-sturdy tripod
-use the 2 second delay or a remote trigger, wired or wireless.
-I auto-bracket (AEB, -2/0/+2) almost every shot as if I was shooting HDR but in post I layer the images together to fix harsh light, I don't actually make an HDR with them
-make sure you set your aperture high enough to keep things sharp, f7-f9 zone should be good.
-use manual focus! I've screwed a few shots up because the AF was hitting something in the foreground and it made everything else blury
-watch out for windows, they are my nemesis when shooting interiors. it's all pretty easy when you're shooting a home theater but when you're trying to shoot a Great Room with 60 foot windows in the daylight it's a real pain. I haven't really found a good way to do it.

ibenick
09-16-2010, 01:29 PM