PDA

View Full Version : Help I need a camera...

DSTRBD
09-13-2010, 09:35 PM
Like the post say's, I have some POS costco special (couple hundred wasted dollars) point and shoot I have been using for a couple years now...I effing hate the thing with a passion!!. We had 15 years worth of camera gear stolen from us in hawaii a couple years ago and have been so bitter that we have not got around to replacing the gear that got stolen. So, we are looking for a "inexpensive" digital SLR. (500.00 ceiling) Im hoping to just get an education from those of you that "know" what bang for your buck means.

So, we love, landscape and macro the best, what should we get?

CarpeyBiggs
09-13-2010, 09:41 PM
$500? pretty low ceiling in the dSLR world... a decent macro lens alone is pretty steep. of course, perhaps you don't mean "macro" as in specialized macro. if you just want something like 1:4 macro, you could probably get away with something less expensive. but for a new camera, still be hard to do.

do you mind buying something used?

DSTRBD
09-14-2010, 08:15 AM
Nope used is fine, I understand lenses are extra, I am an avid saltwater reef aquarium hobbiest (its actually my job too) I need a camera that will get some good close macro shots of coral polyps for my website. I am willing to spend what it takes, and have always been kinda partial to Canon although that has nothing to do with what I might end up with.

So lets say I have up to 1000.00 to spend.

archbishop
09-14-2010, 03:47 PM