PDA

View Full Version : Kayak Camping on the Great Salt Lake?

riskxvx
09-02-2010, 09:43 AM
I'm still relatively new to the SL area, I've only visited Antelope Island once and haven't explored much else of the GSL at all. That said, a few questions:

Are there any decent landings to camp at besides Antelope?
How buggy will it be at night on the shore?
What points of interest should I check out while paddling?
Are there limits to where one is able to paddle?

Thanks in advance for the help!

- Thomas

asdf
09-02-2010, 06:07 PM
Errr.... have you spent much time around the gsl?
I would at least wait until a freeze or two to help with the no-see-ums and skeeters.... but that still won't help the smell :)

trackrunner
09-02-2010, 10:24 PM
I've actually heard there isn't a smell on the lake away from shore. of coarse you plan on camping on the shore and that is where the smell would be.

Shan
09-09-2010, 01:12 PM
It looks like this guy did it and made a write up.

http://www.utah.com/articles/great_salt_lake_kayaking.htm

If you want a longer trip continue from Egg Island across Bridger Bay to Buffalo Point. Buffalo Point is a fascinating world of boulders and sea. If you are up to a marathon trip explore remote and rugged west side of the island. The island is closed to landing beyond White Rock Bay so go prepared for a long paddle.

ibenick
09-09-2010, 02:18 PM
It looks like this guy did it and made a write up.

http://www.utah.com/articles/great_salt_lake_kayaking.htm

That write up actually makes it sound pretty nice. Hmmm....

DOSS
09-10-2010, 08:48 AM
I wish I could find the thread (it was either on Rockymountainextreme, or expeditionutah) that was talking about doing something similar.. one guy that used to work out there warned of the massive amounts of spiders along with pictures.. so be prepared.. if I still have a canoe or kayak I would tag along for sure.

Skylinerider
09-10-2010, 06:34 PM