PDA

View Full Version : Getting back into it

Spooky
05-18-2010, 07:13 PM
I've been recovering and rehabbing after being ill for a few years, and I think I'm ready to get back into some hiking, maybe mountain biking this summer.

Thing is, I can't really do heat. If my body temp goes up just even a degree, my muscles get Jell-O weak (green Jell-O with shredded carrots, because I'm in Utah after all) and my vision gets blurry. Anyway....it's incredibly inconvenient for a red rock desert lover. I usually put ice in my hat to stay cool, but obviously that's not going to work for all occasions.

I've prowled all over Utah before this crap happened, but most of the places I went may be inaccessible to me this year.

I could use some ideas for hikes or easy-ish mountain biking trails in southern Utah, that are either at high altitude (with cooler winds) or in canyons. Some place other than a stool at Moab Brewery, although a growler always works. :2thumbs:

Cirrus2000
05-18-2010, 10:15 PM
I could use some ideas for hikes or easy-ish mountain biking trails in southern Utah, that are either at high altitude (with cooler winds) or in canyons. Some place other than a stool at Moab Brewery, although a growler always works. :2thumbs:

Zion, this weekend, a spot at Watchman, and hanging with some groovy folks. :2thumbs: Beyond that, well, I'm not sure. But it would be a great start!

Win
05-19-2010, 05:48 AM
I don't know where you live but the Cedar Breaks/Parowan area has some great hiking and it's cool all Summer. Tushar Mtn area outside Beaver is great, too.

Win

Alex
05-19-2010, 06:12 AM
Have you looked at this before? I used to use it

http://www.polarbreezebandanas.com/

Don
05-19-2010, 06:45 AM

Oh, man. It's possible I just have sensitive skin or maybe I shouldn't have tried to sleep with it on, but I had one of those cooling bandanas in Iraq and I got the worst rash from it.