PDA

View Full Version : Recommended Climbing Guide Books for St. George Area

mtthwlw
04-02-2010, 10:22 AM
What books do you have on your shelves for climbing in Southern Utah?

I'm a NOOB climber and live in Washington County. My wife and I have been starting to top-rope climb and we're looking for places to go and guide books.

The only climbing guide book we own is Classic Rock Climbs No. 01 Joshua Tree National Park, California (http://www.amazon.com/Classic-Climbs-Joshua-National-California/dp/1575400294/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1270228599&sr=1-2) And it's ok, but we don't live in So. Cal. anymore.

mrbrejcha
04-02-2010, 11:53 AM
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51ZcaYHX1HL._SS500_.jpg

mtthwlw
04-02-2010, 11:59 AM
Thanks. I'll check it out. Good for NOOBs too?

shaggy125
04-02-2010, 12:21 PM
That is THE guide for St. George, it basically covers everything and is one of the most well laid out guidebooks ever. It's really good. Now if only someone would make an equivalent to replace the old Wasatch book.

mtthwlw
04-02-2010, 12:39 PM
Thanks mrbrejcha and shaggy for sharing advice. I've ordered the book.

Bo_Beck
04-02-2010, 12:42 PM
What books do you have on your shelves for climbing in Southern Utah?

I'm a NOOB climber and live in Washington County. My wife and I have been starting to top-rope climb and we're looking for places to go and guide books.

The only climbing guide book we own is Classic Rock Climbs No. 01 Joshua Tree National Park, California (http://www.amazon.com/Classic-Climbs-Joshua-National-California/dp/1575400294/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1270228599&sr=1-2) And it's ok, but we don't live in So. Cal. anymore.

We carry the book here at The Desert Rat. It is $32.95. Stop by. The corner of St. George Blvd and Bluff Street in the same building that houses Hurst Ace Hardware.

mtthwlw
04-03-2010, 10:04 PM