PDA

View Full Version : Help Creating Custom maps for MapSource

jman
02-27-2010, 11:04 PM
I'm interested in creating some custom maps for MapSource (Garmin) and was wondering if anyone here has any tips or advice they can share.

I found a few webpages which help a bit, but they talk to intermediate to Expert GIS folks - not GIS authoring noobs (like me). I am a computer expert and can manipulate and create anything I want - and I'd like to create some custom maps for certain areas in Utah.

BTW - I know there are custom maps for Zion with 1:24000 resolution BUT I have access to a few other maps and POIs in which I'd like to add.

I'm using TerraServer, Google Earth imagery database, USGS Hydrography maps, USGS Seamless servers, and other POI databases such as Archs, Springs and Seeps, Hotsprings, cemetaries, ghost towns, caves, mines, 4x4 roads, boat marinas, etc.

I'd like to create a very customized mapset for Southern Utah with all of the above mentioned - that way, I have no need to keep switching mapsets (WHICH I DO ALL THE TIME- SO ANNOYING!)

Udink
02-27-2010, 11:46 PM
I probably can't help you on creating your own, but there are already 1:24,000 topo maps that cover the entire state of Utah with nearly all the features you describe:

http://miscjunk.org/mj/mp_uttopo.html

It may be missing a couple of the features (some caves and marinas, perhaps), but it has pretty much every back road and trail I've ever been on, and even some obscure ATV and singletrack (motorcycle) routes. At the bottom of the download page, there are some links to the software that the author used to create their maps, which might just help you a bit.

I use these maps exclusively in my Garmin GPS and have never had the need to buy commercial maps. They are simply the best available, and they're free! :2thumbs:

jman
02-28-2010, 01:20 AM
really? hmm...

I'll need to check that out thanks for the link!

jman
02-28-2010, 02:34 AM
Hmm...that's not bad at all! Thanks again for the link.