PDA

View Full Version : Rock Rings or Hangboard?

cookiecutter
06-04-2009, 04:59 PM
I'm wanting something to help build my overall upper body strength and want to spend the least money as possible. Rock Rings are the cheapest of the two, but would I be sacrificing a lot of training potential if I went that route?

I'm new to climbing, just wanting a tool to help me get going

thanks!

cookiecutter

Brian in SLC
06-05-2009, 10:15 AM
I'm wanting something to help build my overall upper body strength and want to spend the least money as possible. Rock Rings are the cheapest of the two, but would I be sacrificing a lot of training potential if I went that route?

Maybe. I go to the climbing gym, but, I don't "train" much. Have a hangboard though, and, have done a bit on it over the years (mostly collects dust, though).

Read some of this:

http://www.rockclimbing.com/Articles/Training_and_Technique/The_Making_of_a_Rockprodigy__258.html

Mike was a local SLC area feller and he's a workout-a-holic. Given what he's researched, written about, and applied to outdoor climbing, his stuff is worth a look. Kinda starts with a hangboard.

If you really get into it, or, even if you don't, then I'd recommend one of the newer training books for climbing. Or, browse through a couple of the training forums (rockclimbing.com or mountainproject both have forums dedicated to training).

Good luck,

-Brian in SLC

Deathcricket
06-05-2009, 12:32 PM
I just ran across this today so haven't had time to let you know if they work. But they are dirt cheap and even though MMA use them to train their hands. I think it might actually work for rock climbing. I'm going to try these out myself but thought I would share since our goals seem to match. You'll spend next to nothing with these.
:five:
http://www.rosstraining.com/articles/trainingthehands.html

[quote]Wrist Roller

Deeps
06-05-2009, 01:11 PM