PDA

View Full Version : Photoshop

DWayne27
10-29-2008, 07:54 AM
So... I am relatively new to all this, but it seems to me like pretty much all of the really awesome pictures i am seeing, on this site and elsewhere, have had at least some time being touched up in some type of photoshop program. Am i wrong in assuming that or are my photography skills severly lacking?

For the first time really i was messing around with some of my pictures in a basic photoshop program that came with my camera and was able to bring out the colors a lot better than the original images. I was definitely pleased with how they are looking, but kinda feel like i am cheating. I have never done anything to my pictures before other than just cropping them. Are there any unwritten rules and what people will do in photoshop, or is it all fair game and i just need to get with the program to keep up with all these other awesome pictures?

Redpb
10-29-2008, 08:22 AM
I know exactly what you mean...
Here's my feeling on it. I think it was Carpey that said something to the effect of 'it's all about what you want to present, it's your creativity' (i'll see if I can find it)
I view photoshop as another tool to use to present what we see in our mind of what the picture should be.

asdf
10-29-2008, 08:30 AM
Try Adobe lightroom2, its a sick program for processing photos.

Wild One
10-29-2008, 08:38 AM
I also know exactly how you feel.

All the pros will always say that no amount of Photoshop (or any other photo editing software) can make up for a lack in lighting techniques and composition. I couldn't agree more. But, what many of these same "pros" don't say is that every one of their shots has some form of editing.