PDA

View Full Version : All things Mountain Climbing

csc0321
02-03-2008, 04:53 PM
Allrighty, I'm new to Utah and I really want to start mountaineering. I'm looking for any advice on the subject. I'm slowly acquiring the necessary gear and I

jumar
02-04-2008, 06:38 AM
Mountaineering can encompass a lot. Are you specifically wanting to get into alpine climbing, like Grand Teton, Rainier, Denali....?
Or do you want to get into rock climbing, ice climbing etc?
Generally the gear differs from alpine climbing and doing the weekend warrior stuff.

I read the Freedom of the Hills when I started getting into climbing and it helped a lot. I haven't seen a recent edition in a long time, but it should still have a lot of useful info.

The biggest thing is to go out with someone. I don't do much alpine climbing anymore, but you're welcome to come ice or rock climbing with me anytime. We just did a little Bogley outing up provo canyon. :2thumbs:

Jaxx
02-04-2008, 08:56 AM
I don't do any mountaineering but I am reading through Mountaineering: Freedom of the Hills. The newest is 7th edition. It has a ton of info on everything from anchors, rock climbing, rappelling, glacier travel, etc. I highly recommend it.

Cirrus2000
02-04-2008, 12:53 PM
I totally agree with these guys - Mountaineering: Freedom of the Hills. It's a must.

Consider looking around for a local mountaineering club, too. Here in Vancouver, we have the BC Mountaineering Club, and the Alpine Club of Canada. They organize trips from valley rambles to regular gym and outdoor cragging, ice climbs and full on mountaineering expeditions. Surely there's one of those nearby for you.

Some younger people here aren't too keen on those kinds of clubs, unfortunately, because the people are "too old" - a lot of people in their 40s, 50s and even 60s. But I'll tell you, there's a LOT of knowledge and experience there, and some of those 60 year olds could kick butt on a lot of 25 year olds.

csc0321
02-04-2008, 02:12 PM
Jeff-