PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for my two week trip in the fall

Trish
06-16-2007, 02:18 PM
Hi y'all!

I'm a real newbie on this forum but not a newbie to hiking/backpacking. However, I am planning a 2 week trip to southern Utah in the fall and have some hikes planned for each of the places we are visiting and wanted to ask for everyone's input in case we are missing out on someplace you have been that is a "must see" while in that area. I am a very experienced hiker and have done some canyoneering here in AZ as well as sections of the Appalachian Trail in my younger days. My companions are more moderate hikers and I'm trying to tailor moderate hikes for them with maybe an occasional "you can do it" hike :nod:

We are starting in Page AZ and then heading for Zion......is a side trip to Pink Coral Sand Dunes worth it?

In Zion we plan on spending 3 days. The hikes I have on the agenda are the Narrows to Orderville, Emerald Pools, and the Barracks (as far as we want to go).

On to Bryce for two days....Fairyland Loop and Under the Rim Trail (as far as we want to go)

Then to Escalante for 3 days....with maybe a stop in Kodrachrome State Park (again, is it worth the trip?) Doing Upper and Lower Calf Creek Falls, Spooky/Peekaboo Slot, and maybe Phipps Arch. Anyone with ACCURATE directions to Spooky please PM me.

On to Capitol Reef for 2 days......Rim overlook/Navajo Knobs, Frying Pan, Capitol Gorge to the Tanks and Chimney Rock. We only have two days here and I haven't been able to find a whole lot of good info on this area. So I have 4 hikes listed but not sure which ones are the best?

Then Natural Bridges where we'll spend a night and then leave for Page, AZ and then back to the Phoenix area. When in Page on the way back, we are going to do the Upper and Lower Antelope Canyons......I've done these before and they are JUST terrific!

So any input or suggestions from you fine people is much appreciated!

Thanks in advance~~~~

:cool2:

sparker1