PDA

View Full Version : Any good camping?

imfrog2002
03-17-2007, 04:36 PM
Does anybody here know of any good camping spots for around this time of year? I'm still new to all the good spots, so I'll take any help I can get. I'm looking for a decent price, and anything away from the city that will be open next weekend. :) Thanks!

DiscGo
03-17-2007, 05:35 PM
In what part of the state are you looking to camp and do you have a GPS?

denaliguide
03-17-2007, 06:26 PM
is free good? where are you and how far are you willing to travel? what amenities do you need? do you have 4WD? in other words we need more data.

Jaxx
03-19-2007, 11:52 AM
check out the trip reports for ideas then call the ranger to see if they are open.
http://uutah.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=712

Pretty much everything down south is open and warm, I-70 down. Uintah's are still closed this time of year. My dad and I went to Arches NP and it was beautiful weather, a little cold at night but that was a few weeks ago. San Rafael Swell is free to camp, primitive. Tibble fork in AF is open. Payson lakes may be open now. I guess it depends on what scenery you want.
I mostly go south of Utah County or to the Uintahs Mirror lake area, I dont know that much about northern Utah.

marc olivares
03-19-2007, 12:46 PM
go south

the temps are PURRRRRFect right now.
it's doesnt get ANY better.

imfrog2002
03-19-2007, 05:31 PM
DiscGolfDivers: You should know me from the UTAG forums. ;) Yes, I have a GPS, and I'm planning on camping up north, around SLC if possible. We're supposed to have a fairly nice weekend. (50 isn't too bad, even if it's 40 in the mountains, we have heavy sleeping bags.)