PDA

View Full Version : Hey everyone...

astrocreep96
03-14-2007, 11:02 AM
I only recently found this site after seeing a mention of it in bikeforums.net.

Name is Zach, I currently live in SLC (near the U). I graduated last summer, I'm kind of dawdling around for the time being. Thinking of going back to school, but first I need to save up some money.

Although I'm coming from Bikeforums, I'd consider my primary interest (with respect to this site) backpacking. I didn't have a chance to get out at all last year, which sucked big time. This summer I'll try to get out a bit more. I'm thinking Havasu Falls, though a short trip, because it looks beautiful. The big trip this year will hopefully be the John Muir Trail in late July.

The longest trip I've done so far was the Utah Highline Trail, from North of Vernal west to the Mirror Lake area. It was something on the order of 100 miles, although likely a bit less than that.

Aside from that, my family has a cabin in the same area, closer to Smith & Morehouse, I suppose. I've been going up there since (technically) before I was born, and been backpacking up there since I was about 12 years old. Having checked through the backpacking section, I've seen many lakes, passes, and peaks mentioned that I've spent a good amount of time around.

Aside from that, I have a roadbike that I ride around somewhat frequently, lately. Mostly for commuting type stuff, but also just for kicks.

Do a bit of snowmobiling around my cabin, a couple of weeks ago I was up there for four days. Had a decent snow fall the night before we arrived, lots of powder. Temps were ~-15 at worst, and roughly 7 feet of snow in a few meadows.