PDA

View Full Version : Never Kayaked but would love to learn

vamedtech
02-21-2007, 10:44 PM
I've recently had an Itch to expand my outdoor horizons. I think that kayaking might just be the thing to scratch that Itch. I was wondering if anyone had any advice for someone like me. I have no experience. How would you recommend I get started.

Alex
02-22-2007, 06:05 AM
Hiya, I would greatly recommend taking a few classes from UofU rec program. Specifically a guy named Gary Nichols. Gary has been teaching canoeing/kayaking/river rescue and backpacking classes at the U for over 23 years. He is a wonderful teacher and will get you up to speed to do the rivers on your own this summer. The classes can be taken without University registration, just pay the fee and you are in.

There are 3 different kayaking classes the U offers. Beginning, Intermediate and Advance. Beginning is the class you spend in the classroom and the pool, learning the rolls, bailing, paddling, etc. The next class would take you to a river, most likely Green River the daily section. The Advance class would concentrate on more advanced tactics of kayaking as well as rescue and such.

If you want to find out more about the classes, training and gear, stop by REI store on 33rd south. Gary works there part time and he is a great resource for whatever whitewater information you want to get.

Here is a link to their classes offered for spring:

http://www.acs.utah.edu/prod/bin/student/scheduling?term=1074&dept=PRTW&classtype=g&cmd=nonCreditClasses

Good luck!

utidcapaco
02-22-2007, 07:50 AM