PDA

View Full Version : Hi Neebie needing camping spots in the Swell

Mountaincin
04-27-2006, 01:16 PM
Hi, I'm a newbie to this site. We are headed for San Rafael Swell on Monday. We are coming from Colorado and my brother and wife are coming from California. Looking for suggestions for camping ( pop-up and small trailer) in the swell. Planning on staying for 5 days to hike and bike.
Any and all suggestions would be most welcomed!
We would like to set up a remote type camp with great view and seclusion!
Any suggestions for day hikes or biking trails or sites not to miss would be appreciated.
Since cell phones have spotty reception in the area , we need to decide where to camp and meet before hand.
Thanks,
Cindy

Reedus
04-27-2006, 03:45 PM
The Baptist Draw trailhead has some awesome views of Chute Canyon gorge. The road out there is a little rough but doable in two wheel drive provided there is no mud. Also, Hidden Splendor mine has some good campsites to that have a great view of the muddy river gorge. Where exactly are you planning on biking? The Swell is a big place.

Reed

Iceaxe
04-27-2006, 03:58 PM
If I were planning to hike and bike for 5 days I would set up at the old Hidden Splendor Mine. Here are the driving instructions and a fun hike

Muddy River Gorge
http://climb-utah.com/SRS/mcgorge.htm

Other fun places to camp might be "Tomsich Butte" and the "The Wedge"

Here are driving instructions to Tomsich and anther fun hike

The Chute
http://climb-utah.com/SRS/thechute.htm

Sorry but I don't have driving instructions for The Wedge. One thing to keep in mind is great views can translate into massive wind storms.

:rockon:

Mountaincin
04-28-2006, 12:47 PM
Thanks for all the great ideas. Yesterday I decided to limit out time to south of I-70. Since out arrival times could vary alot and cell phones might not work, I decided we would spend the first night in the campground at Goblin Valley. This way we'll find one another! Then will find other spots to stay.