PDA

View Full Version : Climbing in Moab

X2
03-01-2006, 10:51 AM
I am fairly new to climbing and bouldering. I have climbed up Rock Canyon in Provo and about a month ago got a membership to the Quarry in Provo where I have started bouldering which I am really enjoying. A group of us are looking at going down to Moab to climb/boulder sometime in the next month or two. I looked up Big Bend and it looks like a pretty cool place to boulder. Are there other places to boulder in/around Moab beside Big Bend? As far as sport routes go are there any down in Moab? I hear there are a few but most of the climbing is trad. I boulder on V3s and climb 5.11a/b. Thanks.

Iceaxe
03-01-2006, 12:30 PM
As far as sport routes go are there any down in Moab?

Wall Street on the Potash Road is what you are looking for. :thumb:

All along Potash Road, which takes off to the east just a mile and a half north of Moab on Highway 191, are incredible cliffs rising straight up just a few feet off the highway. These cliffs form Wall Street and provide virtually unlimited routes and challenges to rock climbers.

There are degrees of difficulty for every level, from serious overhangs to easy sloping routes. There are areas to free climb, some set up for top-roping, and some with reinforced anchors along the route. There is crack climbing, there are shaded gulleys, there are shelves and inverts and sheer walls. There are also plenty of friendly folks, and even guides are available in Moab, that can help you out and give you some guidance.

ajroadtrips
03-02-2006, 01:48 PM
Moab is great. If you looking for easier routes, Kane Creek has some slabby sport routes <5.10. They are in the sun most of the afternoon, and are great this time of year. Lot's of other moderate trad and aid routes around.

I was down there last weekend and did Happy Turk Hoodo (5.8C1) and some routes in Kane Creek. Fun. Temps were perfect.

deserthiker

Iceaxe
03-02-2006, 01:59 PM
Awesome pic :2thumbs:

live2ride