PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here

donny h
01-06-2006, 02:51 PM
Hi all, I am the FNG here.

I moved to Springville 5 years ago after 30+ years in Ca and Nv.

I car camp for 1-2-3 months a year, that has been my thing for years now, ever since I followed The Dead around just a little. Just long enough to learn that for me, the worst day camping is better than the best day working.

I have a decent job for 4 months a year, spring and fall, just enough work to keep me camping the rest of the time. In winter I'm a hermit.

I'm almost 40 and single, I decided long ago that I wouldn't get serious with any woman who doesn't like camping like I do, other wise it's just another reason to stay indoors. Indoors is highly overrated.

Any of you ladies that can put up with a atheist, chainsmoking, medium drinking, target shooting, modern country music hating, grumpy old hippy outdoors freak who cusses like a sailor, doesn't like either political party and spends a month at a time in the desert for fun, well, any of you still with me out there?

The back country in Utah is unbelievable, it seems endless, I am going to explore it forever.

I said the same of Ca, and it's kind of true, but no matter where I went, there was always too many folks. So now I'm here, crowding the back country, oh the irony.

Utah...wow... some of the best remote spots I've found so far are in the San Rafael Swell, by Buckhorn Draw, and back behind Goblin Valley.

The Burr Trail has some remote stuff I really like, as does Fifty Mile Mountain. Batty Caves.

The north slope of the Uintahs is my new hot spot, I spent weeks up there last summer, kayaking on those little lakes: Sheep Creek, Browne, Long Park, Spirit, and Hoop.

I liked Horseshoe Canyon a lot, and I personally think Canyonlands is superior to the Grand Canyon in many ways. The White Rim Trail became a dream trip for me as soon as I saw it, and is part of the reason I upgraded from a van to a 4x4 truck. Can't wait to go back...