PDA

View Full Version : Lone Peak in Winter.

lonepeakgeek
12-27-2005, 03:00 PM
I'm looking for anyone who's made a true winter ascent of Lone Peak. I've got plenty of summer experience on it- and I've made 3 or 4 winter attempts- gotten within a few hunderd feet. If you've done it and don't mind telling your secrets I'd love to hear about it.

Scott P
12-27-2005, 03:50 PM
I've done it from Alpine. When we went, about nine years ago, we had stable conditions. The crux is the south summit to north summit traverse, and if it is heavily corniced or iced up, forget about it. Luckily we had fairly good conditions.

What is the type of info that are you looking for?

I imagine that the Draper Ridge should always be good, but the very end of the route would still be a challenge. Bear Canyon and Big Willow are routes that were established and popular after I moved to CO, so I'm completely unfamiliar with them.

I would rate is as much easier than Timp or Twins in the winter. Lone may be tougher than Timp in summer, but not winter, at least not in conditions I've had on both mountains.

Iceaxe
12-27-2005, 04:12 PM
I just answered this over in the climbing section in more detail. Folks only need to post in one section, we'll find ya.

I've climbed Lone Peak twice in winter, both times using Jacobs Ladder (Draper Ridge). Lone is much more technical then either Timp or (Broads) Twin Peak in winter. That last 1/4 mile of exposured knife edge ridge will really grab your attention. Twin is probably the most dangerous, you cross some major avalanche paths. A couple of guys got whacked climbing Twin via Storm Mountain about three years ago. Timp is probably the hardest physically, but not the challenge technically.

YMMV :popcorn:

Scott P
12-27-2005, 04:26 PM