PDA

View Full Version : The Harvest

Sombeech
10-10-2005, 07:16 PM
There's gonna be a lot of spitting this winter.

This is my first year growing sunflowers, and also harvesting the seeds. I'm going to get a little creative on the seed flavors, of course after I learn the basics of "preparing" them.

Any suggestions out there? :ne_nau: Anybody baked their own sunflower seeds? I think I have a general idea to let them dry, then soak them in salt water, then bake them.

That's about all I know. I must have over 10,000 seeds to go through.

I think we would all like to see your homegrown crops from this year. Any "dandies" or Blue Ribbon winners out there? Let's see 'em from you "self sustaining" folk!!

DickHead
10-10-2005, 07:40 PM
http://growabrain.typepad.com/growabrain/images/pot_grow.jpg

Its been a good year.

:lol8:

Seriously, I don't grow shit. No garden, no flowers, nada. I barely keep up with my yard!

nitmik
10-11-2005, 08:04 AM
http://growabrain.typepad.com/growabrain/images/pot_grow.jpg

Its been a good year.

:lol8:

Seriously, I don't grow shit. No garden, no flowers, nada. I barely keep up with my yard!

That's what you call a banner year!

accadacca
10-11-2005, 09:28 AM
Yeah the secret is out Jamis..... :lol8:

Shan
10-12-2005, 02:04 PM
LOL, JJ!!

Sombeech those are huge! We used to make teepees out of the stalks when we were little. Wait who am I kidding, I did this last fall!

I don't know how to prepare them. Maybe do a google?

accadacca
10-12-2005, 04:02 PM
Who is the dude with the mop top? :lol8:

http://uutah.com/forum/files/harvest__1_.jpg

Sombeech
10-12-2005, 08:50 PM
Who is the dude with the mop top?

Good for Disco
:afro:

Good for Rockin'
:rockit:

But best of all, good for gettin' the ladeez.
:banana:

Black Mage
10-15-2005, 06:13 PM