PDA

View Full Version : OOOPPPSSSS

DickHead
07-08-2005, 07:41 AM
Riding the mid-mountain trail yesterday with a large group, and I went to take some photos along a little runoff-creek. I managed to drop my camera in the water....and it took a few minutes to find it. :frustrated:
I'm pretty seriously bummed right now. I'm going to try and fire it up this morning but I don't have any confidence it'll work.

accadacca
07-08-2005, 07:55 AM
Yeah I had a similar oh shi$! I have been using my GPS on my motorcycle for a few years now. Last year I put my car cigarette lighter plug on my motorcycle. I cut the female end off an extension. Then wired that to my battery. I would just plug the cigarette plug into that short extension. Well this year I decided to eliminate the extension plug and cut the cigarette plug, then hard wire it strait to the battery. I don't know what I was thinking because that eliminated the fuse in the line. I could have easily put another one on the line, but didn't. I tested it at home in the garage and everything worked fine. However when I got to bear lake and plugged in the GPS I heard a pop. :frustrated: Well that might have been the final day of my GPS. I have had it for like 5 years. :wedgie: I could smell smoke coming from the battery compartment. I have not taken it apart yet. I can only hope it has an internal fuse or something? I doubt it! :roll: I might just send it in somewhere and see what they say.

I hope your camera works. Sometimes they just need to dry out. Hopefully.......... :doh:

rockgremlin
07-08-2005, 08:50 AM
I've heard numerous success stories that have resulted from situations like yours. Just let it dry out completely (for at least 48 hours), and then give it a go.

rock_ski_cowboy
07-08-2005, 08:52 AM
I know of several people who've dropped cameras in water. They have removed the batteries and set it somewhere where it will dry. Once it was completely dry, they turned it on and it worked just fine.

DickHead