PDA

View Full Version : The Great Bolt Debate

rockgremlin
03-07-2005, 04:12 PM
No canyoneering forum is complete without an open and sometimes heated debate over rockbolts! Canyoneering is a sport that is becoming more and more popular these days. As with every sport, canyoneering requires a certain set of skills and techniques that enable the participant to safely navigate through a canyon. The placement of rockbolts is appropriate -- WHERE NEEDED. Unfortunately, bolts seem to be springing up all over the place, needed or not. Why haul around a heavy drill in your backpack, if it could be avoided by learning a few simple techniques? Our latest trip through Dang canyon provides a classic case of unnecessary bolt placement.

Remember: SKILLS NOT DRILLS!!!!!!!!

Read on...

accadacca
03-07-2005, 04:47 PM
Yeah......... :nono:

I was there with the crew this weekend and I am just getting into the sport. It is really a shame that others have to ruin it for everyone. :lame:

I can only imagine what the Canyoneering community would think. :chairshot:

Iceaxe
03-07-2005, 06:07 PM
Bolts are for those with no skills and no imagination.... hahaha....

I don't use bolts!!! I stand up to pee....

:haha:

Sombeech
03-11-2005, 02:40 PM
So, do people really pack a drill on their backs?

rockgremlin
03-11-2005, 04:00 PM
Ya, crazy huh? There's another 5 pounds in your pack to lug around.

rock_ski_cowboy
03-29-2005, 10:53 AM
Cross-posted from my Medieval Chamber thread... seemed to fit better here. See that thread for a picture of the ultimate rockbolting machine... the dreaded Hilti.